How Tech Start Ups Are ReWriting Healthcare

See on Scoop.ithealthcare technology

On a recent visit to my physican, I found him using a laptop and keying in medical info as we consulted. He had finally been dragged, kicking and screaming, into the world of electronic medical records. I’ve been seeing him for 10 years, and never once did I see him record anything except on paper. This time, he not only keyed in everything online, but also sent an electronic prescription to my prescription benefits company so I don’t have to drive around and wait at a Walgreens to pick it up. Did he like the new toy ? I asked him. I hate it, was his response. He felt he was wasting his time entering medical info on a laptop when he could be cycling through more patients during the day and charging medicare and insurance for it. He has been forced to adopt it – the proverbial stick with which the hospital group he is affiliated to held over him.

See on technori.com

Leave a Reply

