The Sad State of Diabetes Technology in 2012

See on Scoop.ithealthcare technology

I’ve been diabetic for almost two decades. It’s tiring, let me tell you. Here’s a video of my routine when I change my insulin pump and continuous meter. I’m not looking for pity, sadness or suggestions for herbs and spices that might help me out. I’d just like a day off. Just a single day out of the last 7000 or the next, I’d like to have a single piece of pie and not chase my blood sugar for hours.

 

Every time I visit the doctor (I do every 3 months) and every time I talk to someone in industry (I do a few times a year) I’m told that there will be a breakthrough “in the next 5 years.” I’ve been hearing that line – “it’s coming soon” – for twenty.

 

I used to wait a minute for a finger stick test result. Now I wait 5 seconds but we still have blood sugar strips with +-20% accuracy. That means I can check my sugar via finger stick twice and get a number I’d take action on along with one I wouldn’t. Blood sugar strip accuracy is appalling and a dirty little secret in the diabetes community.

 

I started with insulin that would reach its peak strength after about 4 hours. Today it takes about an hour. Awesome, but that’s not fast enough when a meal can take me to the stratosphere in minutes.

We are hurting here and we can’t all wait another five years. Diabetes is the leading cause of blindness, leading cause of kidney failure and leading cause of amputation.

 

source: http://www.hanselman.com/blog/TheSadStateOfDiabetesTechnologyIn2012.aspx

See on www.hanselman.com

Leave a Reply

