The Growing Power of Social Media in Healthcare

See on Scoop.ithealthcare technology

I remember the first time Twitter had an actual impact on my life, rather than just acting as a meaningless platform for me to vent and comment. Ironically, it was during one of my venting sessions.

 

After moving to a new apartment, I was having trouble understanding why there was money owed on the cable bill from my previous apartment. I complained about my previous cable provider for making my life needlessly difficult in an innocuous tweet. Shortly thereafter a representative from the company contacted me and offered to help clear up my conundrum, which he ultimately did.

 

This kind of customer service floored me. I didn’t expect it at all.

 

Going the extra step and appealing to consumers, while tapping into their concerns in this way, is the kind of phenomenon that’s starting to occur in healthcare, and one hopes will become even more frequent as providers and payers implement social media business strategies.

 

In a recent conversation I had with John Edwards, director of the healthcare strategy and business intelligence practice at PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC), he talked about how social media can improve patient experiences and drive engagement for providers, payers, and pharmaceutical companies.

See on www.healthcare-informatics.com

Leave a Reply

